Comments on Design Anthropology

Home » Uncategorized » High level weirdness – The Nike Long Ball Lace inspired design

High level weirdness – The Nike Long Ball Lace inspired design

Start here

One of the shoes that are an influence on my way of thinking is the elusive Nike Long Ball Lace.

 

The great idea for me conceptually – although in no way whatsoever a new concept, that honour goes to the Albanian ‘Opanek’ shoe – is the fact that the entire shoe is laced together, and therefore in theory at least, if something wears out ) or if one of the components are too small or too big, you can swap them out.

Image

fig.1 – The Albanian Opanek Shoe

Image

Fig.2 – The Nike Long Ball Lace

 

I didn’t really document fully the design of this – and obviously there’s a long way to go before it’s right – but essentially what I did is make a ‘blank’ shoe of no real specific design out of an old pair of jeans, and quickly stapled it together (Yeah, with a stapler). I then drew the design on this ‘last’ of sorts and cut the shoe design from that.

 

From there I transferred the pattern to paper.  Where things went haywire with this design is in the toe box or vamp. I thought I left enough room in the front of the shoe but I know if I bond a sole to this thing there will be no room for my toes. As a sock though, it’s an ergonomic wonder!

 

Fit-wise, the rest of the shoe is awesome. As with the desert boots, I completely improvised the rear of the shoe, and this shoe fits really well.  I did like three moccasin-style I guess ‘pinches’ to remove material where is was saggy, so now the rear fits like a glove. I think I could improve it further by pinching the sides a bit more.

 

Yeah, the forefoot is another story, it’s a real mess! I futzed around with it for about 4 hours, cutting the front off, trying about 3-4 different tongue designs, and scribbling all over it with pens. It’s still not even vaguely right.

I’m not completely convinced that the top-tongue is suited to moccasin-style saddle-stitch construction, but maybe it’s more of a case of getting the positioning right. At this stage its obviously too ‘on top’ of the shoe, and the front generally is too tight.

 

On to the next prototype!

 

Image

Image

Image

Fig.3,4,5 – My Prototype

 

Leave a Reply

